Shake your Pom-Poms for Pomegranates

 

“You gotta start eating more of these” said Mike as he tossed the odd red fruit at me. I caught it and surveyed it like it was a moon rock. I had never seen one of these up close, but If Mike said eat it, I ate it. Mike was my boss, and mentor at Chardonnays in Cranston R.I. And he had more food knowledge than anyone I had ever met in person; he was my yoda, I his Luke. Together I knew we could defeat the powers of darkness (Ok.. I went to far)  He stood there with a look that read a mile away and  I knew he meant business.  So I cut it open, and scooped some of the seeds out with a spoon, and ate some. The next few moments felt like I had fallen into the rabbit hole that led to Alice’s wonderland. As I slowly drifted back into reality,  I could see Mike waiting in my peripherals.  “So?…” he said with a half smirk on his face.  “Shake your Pom Poms!” I yelled ( A phrase we used to describe something great).

 Its been more than 15 years later and I’m still “shaking my Pom Poms” cause Pomegranates are just dope! (old school slang for the greatest thing ever).  Pomegranates have been recognized around the world for over 4000 years for their greatness. In fact in Crete a bride is handed a pomegranate by her groom when she enters the new home.  They are also deemed a super food because of their nutrient dense nature.  The fruit contains high levels of polyphenols and flavonoids, antioxidants that help to fight of the effects of free radicals (nasty cancer causing agents), and heart disease.  Pomegranates actually carry more antioxidant power in one cup than do red wine, blueberries (my favorite!), cranberries, and green tea.  Pomegranates also carry high amounts of vitamin C, and potassium, which are influential in keeping us healthy during the colder months in addition to helping to naturally maintain blood pressure.  That’s worthy of the super food title in my opinion.   So shake your Pom Poms for Pomegranates, you’ll be glad you did.  Try this lite fall salad from The Vegetarian Times featuring the Jewel of Autumn aka the Pomegranate and enjoy.

 

Cheers,

Chef Will Hall

 

 

 

 

Autumn Apple Salad with Pomegranate

 

 

Serves 6

 

30 minutes or fewer

 

 Fuji, Ginger Gold, and Pink Lady apples are good choices here because they resist browning.

 

1 large shallot, finely chopped (¼ cup)

2 tsp. olive oil

¼ cup balsamic vinegar

2 Tbs. honey

12 cups mesclun salad mix

1 apple, thinly sliced

3 oz. goat cheese, crumbled (¾ cup)

1 cup pomegranate seeds

 

 

1. Heat oil in small skillet over low heat. Add shallot, and sauté 4 minutes, or until soft. Remove from heat, and stir in balsamic vinegar and honey. Season with salt and pepper.

 

2. Combine mesclun mix and apple slices in large salad bowl. Drizzle with half of shallot dressing, and toss to coat. Divide salad among six plates. Top with goat cheese, pomegranate seeds, and remaining dressing.

 

 

 

 

 

References:

Autumn apple salad with pomegranate. (2008, 10). Retrieved from autumn-apple-salad-with-pomegranate

Bellows, L. (2013, 05 02). Potassium and the diet. Retrieved from http://www.ext.colostate.edu/pubs/foodnut/09355.html

Fuhrman, D. (2013). Secrets revealed: The powerful health benefits of the pomegranate. Retrieved from http://www.drfuhrman.com/library/article19.aspx

Pomegranate image. (2013). Retrieved from http://greensmoothiesblog.com/pomegranates/

Pomegranates. (2011). Retrieved from http://pomegranates.org/index.php?c=5

 

Leave a Reply

