Don’t Pout… They’re Just Brussel Sprouts

                     

 

I remember running to the corner store as fast as my little legs could go.  I had eye-balled some things on the nights menu that made my heart go pitter patter.  Those lil baby cabbages, I hadn’t formed an opinion about them yet though.  But, anything that cute had to be pretty special.  So just as soon as I got back  I washed my hands and took my place at the dinner table with my brothers. Grub time I thought.  By the time I had reached the table my two brothers had already polished off half of their plates of food.  Heck, all I could really focus on was the plate in front of me.  I took my fork and jammed it into one of those baby cabbages like it would walk off of my plate if I didn’t. I took a nibble first, but truth is when the flavor reached my taste buds, it was love at first bite.  I mean, some kids go gaga for any and everything sweet, but I was a sucker for anything flavorful and new.  In my opinion, I had hit the flavor lottery (complete with confetti and a pretty lady in a bikini) When the smoke cleared ( and my plate was clear) I looked up to see that I was the only one experiencing bliss.  My eldest brother had eaten most of his,… begrudgingly. And my youngest brother, well he just sat and pouted.  The Brussels sprouts were the only thing left on his plate.  I couldn’t understand it then, and I don’t really understand it now. 

When Brussels sprouts are prepared well, they are still firm little cabbage like veggies that literally melt in your mouth.  In this case, my mom liked to sauté them in butter, with garlic, onions, a bit of bacon, and lots of love.  You’d have to be a madman (or madwoman) to not like them.  Mom would always talk about just how good for you they were (all moms do), and she was right.  1 cup of Brussels sprouts contains 37 milligrams of bone-building calcium, and 61 milligrams of phosphorus.  They also contain 74.8 milligrams of vitamin C (antioxidant), 0.656 milligrams of vitamin b-3 (digestive health) , 0.272 milligrams of vitamin b-5 (energy production, skin & hair ),  and vitamin K (blood clotting, &bone density). Mom does know best, so please don’t pout, they’re just Brussels sprouts.  Try this delish recipe from Cooking Light Magazine and carve out a place in your heart for one of the tastiest and cutest leafy greens. 

 

Cheers,

 

Chef Will Hall

 

 

 

Chicken with Brussels Sprouts and Mustard Sauce

 

Ingredients

 

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

3/8 teaspoon salt, divided

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

3/4 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth, divided

1/4 cup unfiltered apple cider

2 tablespoons whole-grain Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons butter, divided

1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

12 ounces Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved

 

 

 

 

 

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 450°.

 2. Heat a large ovenproof skillet over high heat. Add 1 tablespoon oil. Sprinkle chicken with 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper; add to pan. Cook 3 minutes or until browned. Turn chicken; place pan in oven. Bake at 450° for 9 minutes or until done. Remove chicken from pan; keep warm. Heat pan over medium-high heat. Add 1/2 cup broth and cider; bring to a boil, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer 4 minutes or until thickened. Whisk in mustard, 1 tablespoon butter, and parsley.

 3. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon oil and 1 tablespoon butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add Brussels sprouts; sauté 2 minutes or until lightly browned. Add remaining 1/8 teaspoon salt and 1/4 cup broth to pan; cover and cook 4 minutes or until crisp-tender. Serve sprouts with chicken and sauce.

 

 

 

 

 

 

References:

Bashinsky, R. (2011, 12). Chicken with brussels sprouts and mustard sauce. Retrieved from http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-brussels-sprouts-50400000117840/

Brussels sprouts image. (2011). Retrieved from https://www.google.com/search?q=brussel sprouts&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address&oe=&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=9BJTUpeqIIP_4AP_i4D4BA

Sarao , C. (2011, 09 13). Nutritional value for roasted brussels sprouts. Retrieved from http://www.livestrong.com/article/543184-nutritional-value-for-roasted-brussels-sprouts/

 

Leave a Reply

